World's Latest Sports Events

Olympics News, Football, Cricket, Free live cricket, Cricket live scores, Premier League football clubs, Gymnastics, Swimming, Athletics, Chelsea Football Club, Athletics, Sports, Beach Volleyball, Football Plays, Football Schedule, Car Racing, Cycling, kabadi, 2008 Beijing Olympics, Latest sports news

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

At Kingsmead, all the kings' men prevail

Yusuf Abdulla held his nerves and Piyush Chawla bowled a superb penultimate over as Kings XI Punjab beat favourites Mumbai Indians by three runs. The two bowlers conceded eight and seven runs respectively in the last two overs as the IPL has been thrown wide open by the Wednesday night's results.

Mumbai Indians were cruising towards victory when JP Duminy was in the middle but Abdulla got the better of his compatriot to pave the way for Kings' win after Chawla removed dangerous Harbhajan Singh in the 19th over.Irfan Pathan gave away only 20 runs in his four overs as the Mohali side successfully defended a modest total of 119.

For Mumbai, the first 19 balls yielded only 12 runs while costing them the wickets of Sanath Jayasuriya (0), Sachin Tendulkar (1) and Shikhar Dhawan (3). Earlier, Kumar Sangakkara's unbeaten 45 saved Kings the blushes as the side fumbled and faltered their way to 119 for eight. The Lankan waged a grim battle with a 44-ball 45 on a day when only three of his teammates returned double digit scores.

Yuvraj Singh's decision to bat first backfired and by the first strategy break, the Punjab side crawled to 50 for 3.

Openers Karan Goel (12) and Ravi Bopara (6) just could not get going and the first three overs yielded only 10 runs. The subdued start would have pleased any rival captain but not Sachin Tendulkar who tossed the ball to Harbhajan Singh in the fourth over and the offie struck with his third delivery.

Kings XI Punjab: RS Bopara c Tendulkar b Bravo 6, K Goel st Shah b Harbhajan Singh 12 (1x6), KC Sangakkara not out 45 (2x4, 1x6), Yuvraj Singh c Khan b Duminy 10 (1x4), M Jayawardene c Dhawan b Jayasuriya 7, IK Pathan c Bravo b Khan 7, WA Mota b Malinga 5, PP Chawla b Malinga 0, RR Powar run out (Shah) 10 (1x4); Extras (B4 LB2 W11) 17; Total (8 wickets; 20 overs) 119 (5.95 runs per over); FoW: 1-18, 2-18, 3-41, 4-52, 5-84, 6-97, 7-97, 8-119; Bowling: Zaheer 4-0-19-1, SL Malinga 4-0-12-2, Harbhajan Singh 4-0-23-1, DJ Bravo 3-0-24-1, JP Duminy 3-0-23-1, S Tendulkar 1-0-7-0, ST Jayasuriya 1-0-5-1

Mumbai Indians: ST Jayasuriya c Yuvraj Singh b Pathan 0, STendulkar c Jayawardene b Malik 1, S Dhawan lbw b Abdulla 3, JP Duminy c sub (T Kohli) b Abdulla 59 (4x4), DJ Bravo c Mota b Powar 15 (1x4, 1x6),AM Nayar b Pathan 15 (1x4),Harbhajan Singh c Goel b Chawla 6 (1x4), SS Tiwary not out 6, Z Khan not out 0; Extras (B1 LB1 W8 NB1) 11; Total (7 wickets; 20 overs) 116 (5.80 runs per over); FoW: 1-1, 2-4, 3-12, 4-45,5-94,6-101, 7-113; Bowling: IPathan 4-0-20-2, VMalik 2-0-12-1, R Powar 4-0-23-1, YAbdulla 4-0-19-2, P Chawla 3-0-26-1, K Goel 2-0-11-0, WA Mota 1-0-3-0

Labels: , , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home